My 24 hour “technology detox”

This might possibly be the hardest homework assignment I have ever had. This assignment wasn’t hard in a mentally and academically challenging way, but in a satisfactory way. I was required to pull myself away from things that I spend quite a bit of time on throughout the day-technology. I knew this would be slightly challenging for me so I chose to do it during a busy 24 hours where I would be in situations requiring me to be away from my phone, iPad, computer, etc. By keeping myself busy and being at work or volunteering for work outings where I wasn’t able to be on my phone really helped but when I came home, the first thing I wanted to do was lay on the couch and watch Grey’s Anatomy. I found myself being tempted to watch tv or get on social media in my down time because that’s what I always do, that is what I enjoy doing to “chill out”. I did find other ways to use my time though. There were a few things I had been wanting to do that didn’t involve technology (believe it or not). I spent my down time making a scrapbook of pictures from my recent engagement. I also used my down time to look through my abundance of wedding magazines and start going over a wedding budget. I think that having a detox from technology was good, it really helps you clear your mind of all the influential filth as well as accomplish things you normally wouldn’t because you won’t put the phone down. While this is something I wouldn’t take on permanently or for 24-48 hours at a time necessarily, I do think it showed me the important of balance. I wouldn’t want to do this all the time because I felt very out of the loop but it showed me to put my phone down while I’m having dinner with my fiancé or to take the time to try a new craft. I really enjoyed doing things that didn’t revolve around technology. 

Leave a Reply

